Some People Say……You are so brave

You must be brave (at your age implied) to start out on your own in an old RV.

Can you see me in here?

I don’t see it that way.

I’ve done due diligence to avoid potential problems. The truck is older, 1991 it has a powerful ford 350 chassis, I have had the brakes updated and repaired as needed and other expensive stuff repaired or replaced.

I have insurance of many kinds, accident, tire, road side help, new tires, I have an extra air conditioner for just in case the rig ac dies. plus whatever else anyone has told me I’ll need. My fridge is new, stove, microwave & bathroom fixtures all work. I have a backup camera and new computer, web cam camera (that I haven’t installed as I not traveling great or small distances now.) I have one solar panel on my roof.

I did one thing that I may regret to the RV, I removed the heat coils because they took up too much space so I don’t have heat from the rig but my space heater does a good job and I don’t expect to go anywhere too cold. If I’d left them I wouldn’t have my book case and table, choice made.

This is a great option for me. I’m loving my small space, my absolute freedom to do or not to do…anything. I’m not dependent on anyone or causing grief to anyone I can be social or not as I wish. My time is mine unless I chose to share it.

And my finances are not a problem, I can make it carefully and maintain my quality of life with just a few carefully chosen loans to help me get started.

Its a simple life.

And now I’m getting a used smart car to enable me to get around town without having to take my home everywhere with me

Closest small town Truth or Consequences, is 20 miles south, not much there besides Walmart for shopping (and that’s not a bad thing)

El Paso Texas is just 104 miles south

Las Cruses NM is 60 miles North.. 2nd largest city in New Mexico

I can get anything I need on Amazon!

I haven’t even started to do any boondocking yet, I’m too comfortable where I am.

(For those that don’t know what that means boondocking is when you camp on public land without facilities( for 14 days,) no water, sewer or electric power. )

I have all that here at very low cost and plan to stay here awhile. There are mountains and lakes to explore, ghost towns, and art galleries, and classes to take. I like New Mexico but I’d never experienced so much wind that the RV shakes and my chimes sound while hanging inside the RV!

This may be too Boring to read……..really

Today I overslept.

How, you may wonder can I over -sleep in this life of leisure? Today I was going to a watercolor class with my friend Beca at 8:45, usually I have no activities and can wake up whenever but today I needed to be ready to go, she was driving and I heard a honk while I was putting my upper in, that takes some time and can’t be rushed cuz the glue could fail and there is nothing more annoying or embarrassing then loose teeth. Finally ready to go in record time and off we went.

You know this fridge is not frost free! damn we get used to those simple conveniences. Bought lots of vegetables and fruit, now I’ll have to prepare them and eat them before they spoil, I have a recipe for my hotpot thingy to make meatloaf and potatoes together and I’ll try it maybe tomorrow. maybe I’ll invite Robert, I owe him a meal or two.

I’ve never lived anywhere as dry as it is here, I feel like my skin is wrinkly and dry. I don’t like it.

I’m liking this area of New Mexico. I may stay here for quite awhile, the town of truth or Consequences has several good art galleries and there is probably much more to this town than you see from the main street. There is one stop light. One. I drove today from T or C and only 2 cars passed by me in town! There are no passing signs along much of the road to Truth or Consequence thru the hills, but it’s not a problem because there is no traffic it was about noon when I came home, it’s a nice drive.. When I get my car I’ll be able to check out the town better, the main drag has a lot of closed shops, little foot traffic. But there are several hot springs where I expect to enjoy a nice bath soon.

I bought myself a box of valentine chocolates today but I didn’t buy flowers, a simple pleasure I insist on now and then. Can’t wait til indoor plants become available…at Walmart… I want to hang a few green plants in here because everything is brown, of course it is winter so I’m hopeful that Fall will bring some color to the land.

This may be too boring. So I added some flowers.


GHOST TOWN IN Chloride New Mexico

  My neighbor Robert and I went to check out the ghost town of Chloride last week.

There is a wonderful Pioneer Store Museum  of the 1880’s in Chloride,NM

In 1923 it was closed with all the merchandise and furnishings  in it. Today it is  open to the public every day, and  it is on the list  of New Mexico’s register of historic buildings, as is the building next door now used as a art gallery and gift shop.

Here are some photos  from inside the store.

Only 11 people live there now, most of the buildings are unoccupied but there are plans to restore more buildings and tourists from all over the world have visited and signed the guest book.

You can get more information about the town here

http://www.pioneerstoremuseum.com